Maths Centres of Excellence

The Government has named the 21 colleges selected to be Maths Centres of Excellence. Colleges were eligible to apply to become a Maths Centre of Excellence if they had at least 250 students with attainment in GCSE maths below grade 4.

Plans for the centres were first announced in last year’s Autumn Budget. The programme will provide grant funding to build teaching capacity and spread best practice on what works to improve basic maths for learners over the age of 16 with low prior attainment. The Colleges selected are:

  • New College Stamford, Lincolnshire
  • Leicester College
  • Cambridge Regional College
  • Harlow College, Essex
  • Leyton Sixth Form College, London
  • Newham College of Further Education, London
  • Christ the King Sixth Form College, London
  • Gateshead College
  • Lakes College West Cumbria
  • Tameside College
  • Nelson and Colne College, Lancashire
  • Fareham College, Hampshire
  • East Kent College
  • Greater Brighton Metropolitan College
  • Weston College of Further and Higher Education, Somerset
  • City College Plymouth
  • Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group
  • Warwickshire College Group
  • Leeds City College
  • Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education, Lincolnshire
  • Wilberforce College, Hull

Find out more

Website design by ReZolve. An SSIDM website - v4.1.004d [4]. Loaded in 0.0781 seconds.